Hello all

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by vitaum88, Jan 14, 2015.

1. vitaum88

vitaum88 New Member

Dear all,

Long time lurker, first time poster. Let me introduce myself:

I am Victor, Naval Architect graduated in 2011 in Universidade de São Paulo - USP, Brazil, and I currently work as an expat in Japan. My company is building 2 drillships here in a Kawasaki Heavy Industries and I am part of the Field Engineering Team. My main activities here are dealing with structural and outfitting issues.

My question here is: I'd like to study a little bit more about topics that I've already gone through in college as well as new stuff. Therefore, what would you guys suggest I do with my free time?

I've tried getting a few books and reading through them, but I personally do not like straight up reading books, because I don't really see "application" to all the content I am reading. Would you guys suggest doing some kind of small project? Even if nobody is going to build it?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks a lot guys.

2. Mikeemc

Mikeemc Junior Member

Welcome , lots of good reading here. Maybe your expertise could help someone. São Paulo is a nice place , I like the old mission there.

3. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Vitaum88, welcome to the forum.
    The best thing to do is try to project/calculate yourself something that is being built in your yard. This way you can compare your results with reality. When you have a specific question, you can consult in this forum.

4. Pericles

Pericles Senior Member

5. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Pericles, this is a great book that reads well and whose reading can indeed be relaxing. What I don't know is if the OP will find things in it that may apply to his jobs in Kawasaki Heavy Industries.
    Forgetting this, I also recommend him at least to take a look.

1 person likes this.
  6. Pericles

Pericles Senior Member

Last edited: Jan 19, 2015
  7. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Vitaum88

Welcome to the forum.