Going from Kayak Design to Yacht Design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by 6ix, Dec 28, 2009.

1. 6ix

6ix Industrial Designer

I've been a professional industrial designer working in sporting goods (kayaks, canoes, bicycles) for about 10 years now, but am looking to branch out into other areas. Yachts, a natural extension from my experience in designing kayaks, has me particularly interested.

How much of the experience I have designing kayaks (for the world's largest watersports producer) will translate to yacht/boat design? Is there room for a properly trained industrial designer in the industry? My schooling included transportation design and I've been incredibly impressed by the work done by Wally.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! I'm not looking to design the hull. I figure that's best left to the engineers and people with the most sailing/boating experience. But everything waterline up, I figure I can tackle.

Thanks!!

1 person likes this.
  2. Tim B

Tim B Senior Member

Some design teams use an industrial designer for the topsides, but these are generally on larger yachts or motorboats where there are less restrictive constraints on structure, headroom, vessel operation etc.

I'm not sure how much knowledge of kayaks will really translate directly, as yachts and motorboats are considerably mode complex than kayaks. One of the major issues that any designer has is fitting the interior accomodation into the vessel's hull, in such a way that it remains useful both at sea and along-side. I've seen lots of boats that meet one requirement, but only one or two that meet both (and I wasn't able to extensively test those on passages).