Floating Pump Platform Design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by SWomack, Mar 16, 2005.

1. SWomack

SWomack New Member

I have a question that no one in my field (Pump Engineering) seems to be able to answer so I thought I'd ask you folks to take a look at it.

As an pump applications engineer, I often specify vertical turbine pumps for quarry/mine dewatering service or for pumping out settling ponds. These pumps are usually quite large (up to 25,000 lbs with motor) and flows up to 70,000 gallons per minute. That's the easy part.

Because of their location, I am also asked to design some sort of floating platform or barge for these pumps. I have seen these in operation before but never in a satisfactory manner. They either list or ride too low in the water or are too unstable to allow workers on the platform to maintain the pumps. I have contacted several fabrication shops in our area who are willing to try building one but I am convinced that they know even less than I do about this subject. The result is that the plant maintenance guys build it using pure guess work and I have to explain that my pumps are not designed to operate at a 25 degree angle or submerged or with their intakes stuck in the mud.

I want to design a platform to hold 2 vertical turbine pumps at 10,000 lbs each with motors. The pumps will have approximately 60% of their weight above the platform and will extend 8 ft. below it. I want to have 1-1.5 ft. of freeboard (is that the right term?) from the mounting surface to the water. It needs to be stable enough for 2 men with tools to comfortably service the pumps. Lastly, the platform needs to be able to remain fairly close to level when one of the pumps is removed for overhaul.

I understand a little about bouyancy and Archimedes Principle from college and I believe I can get the pumps to float. However, that is where my confidence ends. What further design criteria must I need to consider to ensure sufficient stability for this platform?