Boat Design Forums  |  Boat Design Directory  |  Boat Design Gallery  |  Boat Design Book Store  |  Thanks to Our Site Sponsors

Go Back   Boat Design Forums > Design > Boat Design
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2002, 02:05 PM
lockhughes's Avatar
lockhughes lockhughes is offline
ElectricGuy
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Rep: 22 Posts: 110
Location: Wards Island Toronto north shore, Lake Ontario
Fixing a sub-standard commercial-built boat

DO NOT CLICK ON THIS LINK. You have been warned.
(unless you have waaaaaay too much time on your hands, and are comfortable with having an addictive personality)

http://www.vonwentzel.net/Prout/

L
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2002, 05:38 PM
Jeff's Avatar
Jeff Jeff is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rep: 921 Posts: 1,371
Location: Great Lakes
We took some heat for even linking to that site (though it was actually listed in our directory not the Boatbuilding Ring as Mr. Knox-Johnston says below)
Quote:
Dear Sir,

We have noticed that there is a site on your ring called 'The Cat's
Pyjamas'. We are stunned and deeply disappointed by the extraordinary tirade
aimed at Prout Catamarans, which we consider grossly inaccurate. We strongly
refute almost all of Mr. Von Wentzel's claims. We believe that your ring
has a responsibility for the accuracy of the sites that is lists, and, in
order to avoid costly legal action, we would be grateful if you would
consider removing this site from the web ring.

Yours sincerely,

Rupert Knox-Johnston
Sales and Marketing Manager, Prout Catamarans
I should add that there are two sides to every story and I can understand why my Knox-Johnston would be upset if the claims on that web site are untrue – I have no information one way or the other so I will stay uninvolved. But I don’t like the idea of being threatened or bullied by the fear of "costly legal action" for simply linking to a web site. I told Mr. Knox-Johnston that if he has a legitimate cause of action he should contact the person who created, maintains, or hosts the web site not the web directories which link to it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2002, 09:23 AM
lockhughes's Avatar
lockhughes lockhughes is offline
ElectricGuy
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Rep: 22 Posts: 110
Location: Wards Island Toronto north shore, Lake Ontario
Quote:
Originally posted by Jeff
We took some heat for even linking to that site (though it was actually listed in our directory not the Boatbuilding Ring as Mr. Knox-Johnston says below)
Yikes... well, hope it's OK to leave my msg up here - let folks make up their own minds? Or delete, if it makes your life easier <smile>
It is interesting to see how little of the Prout $$$ problems seems to have made it's way into the www.media ... If K-J/Prout feels this way `bout the vonwentzel site, I'd a thought they'd be concentrating their legal guns there? How `bout if they refute particulars, rather than the sweeping generatizations? I dunno...

I just thought the vonwentzel site an interesting "tutorial" in onboard systems.
L
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-2002, 09:24 AM
lockhughes's Avatar
lockhughes lockhughes is offline
ElectricGuy
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Rep: 22 Posts: 110
Location: Wards Island Toronto north shore, Lake Ontario
ps... always thought Prouts looked ugly as hell <wink>
L
Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hull speed Mike D Boat Design 33 02-27-2011 02:20 AM
Auto engine marinization DIY Marinizing 231 07-01-2010 08:34 PM
World's fastest flat's boat Powerboats 5 01-22-2006 12:17 PM
Trying to ID this boat LarryW Open Discussion: All Things Boats & Boating 3 06-23-2005 08:40 PM
geometry of sailing Sailboats 8 10-12-2002 11:58 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Web Site Design and Content Copyright ©1999 - 2012 Boat Design Net