fiberglass deck

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by boatbuilder41, May 21, 2014.

1. boatbuilder41

boatbuilder41 Senior Member

I have been building decks from fiberglasss panels for a few years. i build the ribs from panels as well. i usually dont use a core unless specified by owner. these decks support a tremendous load. I havent had any problems with these decks at all. And they are light in weight for there size. how come i dont see other builders doing this ???. My fork lift is just shy of 18000 lbs and i can drive it on my deck and park it for hours and it doesnt hurt it at all. it doesnt even phase it at all. it is a little expensive. but not as þad as sðme of the core materials on the market. i was just wondering why i dont see more like this. im just here to learn and become a better builder. so any input or criticism would be appreciated

2. boatbuilder41

Herre are a few pic

Attached Files:

3. boatbuilder41

This deck in photos is 12 ft wide x 15 feet long and is installed in two pieces . it is flange bolted st the center line. the ribd are 4 inches wide with a 1 1/2" crown both top and bottom. the ribs are every 12"apart across the beam and run every 24" frrom bow to stern.

4. Petros

Petros Senior Member

I would like to understand your process better: are you buying prefabed fiberglass panels and than cutting them into strips to use as your stiffening ribs?

since you are presumably buying mass produced panels you would be saving some labor, but the configuration of the design would not be optimized for weight. IOW, you may indeed be getting excellent strength for the total cost of the deck, but it will not be the lightest that can be achieved. Most boat designers are trying to achieve the best strength to weight, with costs being a secondary consideration.