FEM analysis

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Smircio, Jul 9, 2007.

1. Smircio

Smircio Junior Member

Hi to everyone. I'm studying by finite elements the structural strain on a trimaran freighter, I have calculate the right pressure to load (for exemple the pressure due to the impact af waves....) but I don't know how and where to constrain the ship.Can anyone help me?

Thank You

2. Sands

Sands Junior Member

Although I haven't done FEA on a boat, I have done quite a bit on industrial equipment - including non-linear impact. What you are talking about seams to be impact? Are you looking at wave impact on surfaces or structural loading of the hull attachment members?

The problem that you are going to run into is a boat is statically indeterminate since it's not naturally attached to or contacting anything solid (as long as it doesn't sink...! :) ) Essentially, it's not going to be easy. The whole garbage in, garbage out routine.

If you are talking about wave loading, the only *real* way is to build a model or prototype and test it. 2nd best is to look at similar designs of similar class and intended use and see how strong/flexible those designs are built.

If you are talking about structural members, then I suppose the outriggers should be able to support themselves suspended? An open ocean (?) freighter should be able to crest hurricane waves and not break it's back.

Some more information on the basic dimensions and intended uses would help.

3. Smircio

Smircio Junior Member

Thank you, Sands, for your so fast reply.