Electric desalination

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by mtumut, Sep 3, 2009.

1. mtumut

mtumut Junior Member

I am researching ways to desalinate sea water at sea with electric. I am not good at this subject but this could be electrolysis may be.
    Please share with me your knowledge.
    It must be adapted to 1 meter boat for Istanbul to Chile voyage , 1 liter daily.

Thank you ,

Mustafa Umut Sarac

Istanbul

2. apex1

apex1 Guest

Mustafa,
    it is spoken like Chile, but you write it "Sile"! And you can go there by Bus, no boat needed!

3. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

One litre a day is not much to go on. Are you sure you have this thought out in sufficient detail?
    A reverse osmosis watermaker (pretty much the only type commonly seen on pleasure craft) will run you a few thousand dollars. I've never seen any cheaper systems that look like they'd actually work for very long (ignoring, for the moment, the little hand-pumped emergency units used for life rafts).

4. apex1

apex1 Guest

5. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

mtumut, Why not a solar desalinator? No electricity needed, just a collector for condensation of evaporated sea water.

6. hoytedow

P.S., Isn't 1 meter a little short?

7. mtumut

mtumut Junior Member

There will be no sun where I am going only grey clouds I think. I will be at South Atlantic at the future exactly. I had been read a article about using aluminium plates and some other metals as anode and cathode.
    It was saying it was possible to produce water.
    OK. Let s be clear.
    I dont know but which metals are suitable to electrolysis the seawater ?
    Is it possible to clean the metals from collecting salt and other metals ?
    How much electricity does it need to produce 1 liters of water ?
    I can buy a Survivor 06 but I cant trust it. I need to find a way to produce my electric and water and food by myself with rock solid way.
    I am searching for non moving parts technologies.