Drift boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ked_man, Dec 3, 2008.

1. ked_man

ked_man New Member

I am a virgin boat builder and am asking for advice.

I fly fish a lot and would like a drift boat to float some of the bigger rivers that i cannot wade. I have looked into buying one but they are expensive. A decent one is at least 2000 dollars. I am looking to save some money and pick up a new hobby as well. I have a design in my head of boats I have seen before but I was wondering how important is it to build by blueprints or would one be able build a nice usable boat without one?

I would like a kinda mackinze style river boat with a flat bottom with a square stern onto which I could mount a small motor. 3 seats and oar locks is about all I am really looking for the rest will fall into place.

Thanks
    KED

2. CET

CET Senior Member

Something like this?

Driftboat.JPG

3. CET

CET Senior Member

Now that I have a few minutes to write, I wanted to add a few things about drift boats. First, for $2,000 you should not expect to get much in the way of a McKenzie style drift boat. Certainly nothing new. You may get a POS used boat without trailer or other accessories (oars, anchor, etc.).

These days a new Hyde or Clackacraft rig, with everything you’ll need to use it, will run a minimum of $10,000. They are nice boats, especially the Hydes (I have rowed both, but I own a Hyde), but their hulls are just molded polyester fiberglass and as such are very heavy and flimsy.

You could build a superior (lighter and stiffer) drift boat with plywood, fiberglass and epoxy using stitch-and-glue techniques for less than half the money, but it will still cost you more than $2,000.