DIY cheap "tube-cat" design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by nakamoomin, May 9, 2010.

1. nakamoomin

nakamoomin Junior Member

Hi, I'm new to this forum (and boatdesign) but lately I've been inspired to build my own cat. I'm hoping to get it done by the summer.

I tried a couple of Hobie Rotomolds in Key West this easter (Wave, Getaway) and I was impressed by how responsive and easy-handling they were. (I've had some experience with Lasers and some recreational cruising with some guys from my university.) After seeing the "rebel-cat" online (link) I decided I'd have a go at designing and building a cheap, safe and (hopefully)fun beach cat myself.

I intend to buy two pieces of 5 meter (16'5") 355 or 400 mm (14"/16") diam plastic tube. These will be stiffened by using "bulkheads" of high-density PS (styrofoam) and PU foam filler (SikaBOOM). This will give me a sturdy, easy to make (almost no poly/epoxy/fiber mess) and cheap hull. Cost per hull will be 180 - 450 USD (depending on tube material and diameter)

I'll heat the plastic (with hot-air or water) to be able to "pinch" the end closed, making the bow. (think of a drinking-straw folded over itself, or bent 90 degrees). If I do this at both ends, I'll have a nice sharp bow and aft. This eases the fitting of a rudder (and possibly flow?)

This is the first of 3 concepts I've made so far.

Buoyancy for each hull will be 300-400 kg (dep on diam). The total weight will be around 200 kg this allows for 4 adults to be carried safely (400mm):

total displ. = 800kg
    weight of boat = 200kg
    safety factor = 2

(800 - 200) / 2 = 300 kg

75kg * 4 = 300 kg

I've attached some images as well:

What do you guys think?
    I'm concerned about the bow (looks like an axe-bow), especially that it is the lowest point of the hull.

Also, no rocker (or rather inverse rocker) could make this a b**ch to turn.

Attached Files:

• 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      25.2 KB
      Views:
    • 1b.jpg
      1b.jpg