Boat Design Forums  |  Boat Design Directory  |  Boat Design Gallery  |  Boat Design Book Store  |  Thanks to Our Site Sponsors

Go Back   Boat Design Forums > Design > Boat Design
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Most Recent Posts Gallery Images Search

Old 06-17-2008, 10:52 AM

Rep: -6 Posts: 22
Designing Wet Exhaust

I am designing a wet exhaust for the boat in the attached avatar. The engine will be a 250 inline chevrolet gas engine. I plan on running the rubber wet exhaust tubing from the manifold, injecting the sea water at some point, and exiting throught the side of the boat. Can anyone give me tips on how the hose should run,whether the outlet needs to be level with the manifold or higher or lower etc. I just want to ensure that no sea water enters the engine.

Old 06-17-2008, 11:54 AM
Previous Member

I'm no exhaust expert. However, this article was very helpful to me in designing a repower for my F-36 Trojan. It is very comprehensive. You may need to register on the site first (free) to get to it:
http://boatdiesel.com/Articles/Artic...troduction.cfm
Old 06-17-2008, 01:18 PM

Rep: 231 Posts: 185
Design Article

Lawrencemd,
Dave Gerr has a few articles at the Professional Boatbuilder Magazine, that are accessible online, covering almost every aspect of marine exhaust you're likely to find.

Dave is the head of Westlawn's (correspondence) marine design program and a practicing marine designer/engineer/architect @ Gerr Marine. His book the Nature of Boats available at Amazon, I'm sure, is also very informative about the basics of engine systems.

cheers,
kmorin

Last edited by kmorin : 06-17-2008 at 01:22 PM. Reason: signature added
Old 06-17-2008, 06:54 PM

Rep: 888 Posts: 2,986
Are you using a marine engine or an automotive engine?
Old 06-18-2008, 09:01 AM

My engine may have started as an an automotive engine but it was used in a fishing boat and is equipped with a water-cooled manifold.
Lawrence