Designing an amphibious flood response vehicle?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by cardboard, Nov 6, 2007.

1. cardboard

cardboard Junior Member

I am an undergraduate studing for my masters in automotive engineering at loughborough university. a team of us have been asked to design an amphibious flood response vehicle. a basic desgin spec has been put together

weight - 3 tonne, 2 tonne payload
    length - 5m
    width - 2m
    height -2m
    minimum ground clearence - 300mm
    engine needs to produce 150+kw
    2 x UJ440 electric marine jets will produce enough power to move at 20knotts

i dont know if any of you have heard or seen of the gibbs humdinga http://www.gibbstech.co.uk/humdinga.php

but effectively it should be something similar to this

i would really appreciate any ideas or information any of you may have with most of the team not really being that clued up on marine engineering with only me and one other team memeber ever really been out on the water sailing.

our biggest problems our waterborn stability, the weight distribution, hull design and fueling but i think 1 tank with bafflers would be sufficeint here but maybe not?

anyway we would really appreciate any input

many thanks

tom

2. kach22i

kach22i Architect

Will the craft be expected to enter urban (city) areas? Lots of floating debris, water may so full of nasties, low spray a must, maybe a low wake hull design will help too (look up "M-Hull").

Will it be rescuing people off of roof tops?

What will the mother ship look like, or will it be air dropped?

Do you favor a monohull over a catamaran, if so why?

Catamaran would be more stable, right?

This crazy thing gave me a wild idea, I'm just silly I guess.:D

http://blog.modernmechanix.com/2006/08/10/car-made-from-jet-fuel-tanks/
    [​IMG]

3. cardboard

cardboard Junior Member

yes but it will be primarily a vehicle. we have looked at a flat hull but this poses turning issues and maybe a partial multihull