converting a monohull into a trimaran

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by tomthebikeman, Mar 5, 2008.

1. tomthebikeman

tomthebikeman New Member

Why not? I have a Beneteau 235 2'9" draft that has been a great boat but has a small cockpit. I sail in skinny water 3-4 feet, live in key west warm weather so sleeping on tramps instead of a hot boat would be ideal. And snorkeling and hanging out on the tramps would be great fun. I did design and build a small 18 foot trimaran years ago before I even knew how to sail. I had a blast with it until its demise 5 years later. So now I was thinking about an f boat or a Telstar but jeeze thats a lot of money! Why not unbolt the keel, buy a couple of used cat hulls, build some cross beams( the hard part), rework the rudder and voila........cool keys trimaran that draws less and is easier to to get on and off of and easier to get off the sand bars than my wing keel. OK so of course I am an expert but I was just wondering if any of you experts think that the hull shape of the 235 would work and if so what type of cross beam, alluminum, plywood, glass over ply, wood, solid wood, glass over foam, Whatever!!!!! I wont need to trailer it and to keep it simple it wont need to come apart but that would be nice. Obviously it wont be raced against a corsair. Thanks for your time and you cant hurt my feelings much. Tom

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Hi Tom, welcome aboard the forum!