Classic Tender / Dingy Design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by allan white, Jun 1, 2008.

1. allan white

allan white Junior Member

Hello Everyone,

I am looking for a classic tender design in the 8 1/2 foot range. Herrshoff, Lawley etc. I would truly appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks in advance.

Allan

2. Grant Nelson

Grant Nelson Senior Member

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Pick up a copy of "Building Classic Small Craft" (vol. 1 & 2) by John Gardner. Given the choice I think the Lawley tows astern better.

4. FAST FRED

FAST FRED Senior Member

Grumman Aluminum sailing dink, lighter and far tougher than wood or GRP , aboyt 80 lbs in 8 1/2 ft .

Sails great , mast and gear fit inboard, dual oarlock sets so two can row in a heavy slop.

FF

5. bntii

bntii Senior Member

take a look at the Lawton tender

In Gardners book as well.

I have been building one for the last 8 years or so..... beautiful hull, a permanent fixture in my dining room.. hangs from the ceiling. I really kick myself- I tossed out the form and strongback after taking such paint to loft the plans and transpose the whole bit to 1' stations.
    A bit longer than you cited but the length makes for a more honest hull for rowing.

6. allan white

allan white Junior Member

Hello bntii,

I have a client that would like me to build him a classic tender using my new infusion patent. I haven't been able to find any decent photos of the Lawley. Do you have any of yours by chance?

Allan White

7. bntii

bntii Senior Member

Hello Allan,