Canoe Hull Design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by southernengenr, Jun 16, 2008.

1. southernengenr

southernengenr Junior Member

Some of you may be aware of the annual Civil Engineering competition that involves producing a concrete canoe. The competition involves several aspects, but the most prominent is the canoe race. Therefore, a fast and efficient hull design is required.

I'm currently working on our design for this coming year. I would like some recommendations for books and software that would be helpful for creating an optimal canoe hull design. I currently have been reading over a Naval Architecture book that I picked up, but it covers mostly large displacement craft. I’m familiar with Rhino and AutoCAD, but I have no experience with marine software.

The canoes specifications are approximately 20' long with a max beam 28 - 32". I would really like to get a couple of good reads that would help me with the basics.

Any insight is greatly appreciated.

1 person likes this.
  2. ryank

ryank New Member

do they say what type of concrete it has to be? because I recently saw floating concrete which has tiny hollow spheres to lower the density, but strength is not compromised. Materials are part of design

3. southernengenr

ryank,

The Concrete Mix design is somewhat regulated for the competition. They regulate the amount of Portland cement that has to be maintained in the binder along with the percent passing blends for the aggregates. However, they do not regulate the amounts and types of mineral admixtures that can be used in the concrete.

Over the past two years we have developed a mix design through research and testing that will perform as needed. The mix utilizes lightweight glass microspheres and carbon fiber materials for aggregate and reinforcement, respectively.