boat help!?!? please? fiberglass bass boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by nlange, Feb 23, 2009.

1. nlange

nlange New Member

Hi im new to this but i just have a few questions that may lead to a lot. I just recently bought a boat but i did not relize that the back of the boat is cracked on the left side where the motor mounts right next to the transom. I have a picture to show you that ill attach. But the boat i bought for fishing, its a bass boat so it sits really close to the water so i belive that part is pretty much underwater. Is that pretty bad?is the water going in the cracks and ruining anything? The boat is fiberglass also. its also a 1979 but looks new sort of. I like it alot and i got a really good deal on the boat all i need is to fix the 120 horse i got on her to get her going for opener this spring. I just need to know if thats bad?, if its a hard fix?, if youd have a ball park range on how much it would get fixed by somone, if my motor is going to fall off if i gun it across the lake, and also if i could do it myself if its bad, well if you guys think its bad or not? i hope its not bad but take a look. Thanks!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Feb 23, 2009
  2. nlange

nlange New Member

i dont know how to add another pic but i can make a new thread and post more if you guys dont get where the motor mounts on. but i hope these pics help. let me know. thanks much!!

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

It would appear your transom needs a new core, but you need to perform a simple test.

With the engine locked in the up or down position, lift on the lower leg. Yep, it's heavy, but you'll have a fair bit of leverage, now look at the mounting bolts. What you're looking for is puckering, dimples and movement as you lift up on the engine. The mount should be rock solid, zero movement, etc.