Boat Design Proj

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by designfreak, Mar 31, 2005.

1. designfreak

designfreak Junior Member

Hi, I'm a student and I really hope that I can get some opinions on this.
    We have a project that requires us to design and build a scaled boat that can carry cargo. Basically, we are simulating the boat to carry cargo and moving from one port to another. This will be done at a swimming pool.

Some background information.
    The only "power" source we get is compressed air (50psi) ..either one 2L bottle or more than one... haven't confirmed yet. We get a micro-controller in which we can program it to control the rudder or whatever we use to steer the boat. There is a size restriction...2m long. But we dont' wanna build too big of a boat 'cause we wanna minimize the volume possible of the boat sinec anything sticking out from the boat (rudder, propeller) will count as part of the "volume"

This boat needs to travel a straight line (with and without guidance wire) for 18m. It will also need to do U-Turns after specific distance travelled. In addition, it will need to do S-Turns as well.

So, my question is.......

how should i go about it????
    hull shape...we pretty much decided
    but we don't know how we can get the boat to move such a long distance.. and also be able to do u-turns to return back to shore with the compressed air we got.
    What's the advantage and disadvantage of having two propellers...
    Is there any other way we can use for propulsion? thoughts of using air motor but anythign better?

those are all the questions i can think of so far...

2. Skippy

Skippy Senior Member

How do these school projects work? Are you supposed to be asking for advice on the internet? We've had a couple students come & go very quickly, I always wondered if they got in trouble.

3. DaveB

DaveB Senior Member

what's the cargo? Is it defined by wt, volume, area or length?

4. designfreak