Boat design for dummies....anyone?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Blackcauldron, Jan 12, 2009.

1. Blackcauldron

Blackcauldron New Member

Hello,

I am new to this wonderful forum. Very interesting and very informative. I don't have any back ground on engineering nor architecture. do you have threads or sites for newbies or dummies? most of the treads i ran into are for "experts"

any help is very much appreciated. Thanks!

- Brian

2. apex1

apex1 Guest

Welcome.............to start with.

Here are no dummies! Experts only!:D If you managed to sign in here and not your hometown swinger club you are never a dummie.:D

Browse the Forum with some patience and if nothing catches your attention, just ask your Questions. Someone will reply.

Regards
    Richard

3. rasorinc

rasorinc Senior Member

If you are looking to build a boat check ou the Glen-L marine design site and their forum.

4. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member

Brian

I do not know of any site that is so general. It is a very general question.

It would help if you provided the reason for acquiring the knowledge. Do you want to build a canoe or project manage the construction of a luxury yacht. Quite a range.

Are you interested in displacement hulls or planing hulls.

Do you want to learn about sails or motor driven vessels.

I think you need to be more specific. There are basic books on boat design. Such as those here:
    http://books.boatdesign.net/

At the very beginning a book can provide a quick and simple single reference rather than trolling about the net picking up snippets.

There are some free design software tools that give a measure of professionalism quite quickly but you need some basic understanding before you jump in with these.

Building and using a model boat can get you through the full process quickly.

Rick W

5. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder