Boat buidler/designer seeking advice on design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by DownRiver, Feb 18, 2010.

1. DownRiver

DownRiver New Member

Hello, I am a small drift boat builder out in Swan Valley, Idaho. We primarily build drift boats designed for an oarsman and two passengers to row/float down stream and fish out of. Since the downtourn of the economy I have had plenty of time to research and start a new design based off of our first boats.

As I am sure builder/designer knows everyone is a critic and everyone has a better idea, it is our job to come up with a design that everyone can agree works and adds innovation as well as safety. For many years drift boat design has been stagnate which is why I decided to test the waters so to speak. Manufacturers have tended to just rely on the status quo to get by and haven't really tried to think outside the box to expand their market. When I put my boat into the marketplace the industry reacted very adversly due to the fact I had just shook up design as well as the material aspect of the drift boat. My boat wasn't built out of fiberglass, aluminum, wood, it was all composite with a foam core, carbon fiber, and a polyurethane exterior. Most said it would not float, when it did they said it must weigh a ton, it was lighter. What they could say is that my bottom design was untested.