Beginner on board

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Dinchamion, Mar 22, 2009.

1. Dinchamion

Dinchamion New Member

Hello there,

I'm pretty new to boat building, in fact I'm taking the first steps to build my own sailboat... I'm in love with classical designs, so I'm going for a traditional schooner-type, and I'm not afraid of experimenting with stuff on paper before I start the actual work. I've been building model ships since I was little, so I know a little about these designs, however I have a few questions.

1. I've spent days digging through Google to find some blueprints I can base my design on, but with little to no luck. Anyone could point me in the right direction? (I'm willing to pay for blueprints, although my funds are very limited)

2. I know that messing around with the interior (changing the size of the cabin and the storage area, etc.) is risky, but I can't afford to pay someone to actually design a ship for my needs, so I have to do it myself - any pointers how can I keep this in balance? I'm not afraid of learning physics if I have to, and I need a ship that can hold two people for a long time, supplies, etc, plus my motorbike for ground transportation... Anyway, I'm looking for some resources on how to calculate this stuff.

3. Any advices in general you can give me would be highly appreciated! :) I know that going for a ~40+ feet schooner as a first ship is a bit ambititous, but I'm going to do it anyway, so I'm relying on the good will of more experienced folks for help. :)

Thanks in advance!

2. gwboats

gwboats Naval Architect

Dinchamion,

First of all welcome to this forum. You will find a huge amount of information, help and not a little criticism on this site.
    Regretably, I have seen far too many people with huge amounts of enthusiasm begin their projects by saying they cannot afford to purchase a design or hire a designer.