Basic Question

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Tommymitch, Oct 21, 2014.

1. Tommymitch

Tommymitch New Member

Hi - I am new to boating and have a very basic (and possibly embarrassing) question.
    In the attached photo, what are these two void areas to be used for? Fishing bait storage? Rope storage?
    I know they must have a use as it seems a waste of space otherwise?

Attached Files:

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Storage of whatever you want to put in.

3. JRD

JRD Senior Member

Sometimes there is a locker at the transom for your gas tank or battery, but there would usually be a cover if so. They look like general storage from here.

My suggestions are:
    Port side -Ice and beer
    Starboard side - Mother in law

1 person likes this.
  4. Grey Ghost

Grey Ghost Senior Member

Can't see down into them. I would say general storage. Probably over a battery box and 2 stroke oil tank. I've had a boat with seats beside the outboard and it wasn't good (too noisy, didn't enjoy sitting there ever.) It's probably an easy way to firm up the transom and splash well.

5. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

Live bait well possibly.

6. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

I think that is used to give more waterline length to the boat, moving the center of buoyancy aft, and, therefore, appear those spaces that everyone can use for whatever he wants.

7. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

I don't think those boxes extend the LWL TANSL as, they look to be flush with the transom cutout. As mentioned, you can place whatever you want in them, but keep the weight down is it's a relatively small boat. Usually, you'll have batteries and/or fuel tanks below these boxes, but mounted up high (those lockers) should have light items on boats under 18'.

8. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member