Amphibious Car Design - College Student Project

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by mikehoyer, Mar 20, 2006.

1. mikehoyer

mikehoyer Junior Member

I'm a mechanical engineering student working on a design project.

The objective of the design project is to design and construct a single seat amphibious offroad vehicle. There are many guidelines for this project which are located here

The basic dimensions of the vehicle are:
    Width = 1.524m (60in)
    Length = 2.743m (108in)
    weight including driver = 317kg (700lbs)
    Engine Horsepower = 7.457kW (10hp)
    Max Engine RPM = 3800RPM

My question is:
    Using the model of a flat bottom boat with an outboard motor, what would the maximum velocity of the vehicle be using the dimensions given above? Please provide references to mathematical models used, or point me in the right direction.

here is what our car looked like last year

here is the car driving on the water #1

here is the car driving on the water #2

here is the car driving on the land

Thank You,
    Mike Hoyer

Last edited: Mar 22, 2006
  2. FranklinRatliff

FranklinRatliff Previous Member

Hydrofoils

I would take a serious look at retractable hydrofoils to get as much of the vehicle out of the water as possible.

3. mikehoyer

mikehoyer Junior Member

Thanks for the suggestion. That would be a very elegant design, similar to the Rinspeed Splash.

However, we need to take baby steps. It's hard to tell from the pictures, but we are using deep vee chevron pattern tires as paddle wheels. I need to figure out if the added cost and weight of a propeller or impeller would be justified by the performance gain. Our current top speed is about 2knots.

Once we have justified the use of a propeller or impeller, then we'll work on adding some hydrofoils :D

PS - Just a note on forum etiquette. You don't have to quote an entire post if you're the first one to respond.

4. FranklinRatliff

FranklinRatliff Previous Member