America's cup schooner design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Guest, Feb 21, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Im currently a student at the Southampton Institute studying towards a degree in Yacht an powercraft design. We currently have an assignment related to boat design, the topic we have chosen relates to the changes in America's cup designs from 1851 to the present day, looking at all generations, schooners through to 12 metres, J boats throught to the IACC.

Any information regarding the topic would be very much appreciated, especially regarding the Schooners.

thank u for your help

2. Stephen Ditmore

Stephen Ditmore Senior Member

There have been two near reblicas built recently of the schooner yacht America, a black one and a white one. Design issues for the white one were handled by Sparkman & Stephens. If the plans aren't in the S&S office in New York then they're archived at the Mystic Seaport Museum. The black one was designed and built by www.scaranoboat.com (and I think has a fin keel, unlike the original).

The America's hull shape was a repudiation of the design theoies prevalent at the beginning of the 19th century. See http://www.boatdesign.net/forums/showthread.php?threadid=1377

Many America's Cup designs were by 4 designers: Nat Herreshoff, Starling Burgess, Charles Nicholson, & Olin Stephens. Books about them might be helpful to you, and Olin Stephens recently wrote a book.

Some people from Mystic Seaport recently published a performance study & wind force coefficients for a 2-masted S&S design, which they presented at the Chesepeake Sailing Yacht Symposium (the one 4 years ago perhaps?)

I hope that helps. I'd be happy to try to answer any specific questions I can.

3. tspeer

tspeer Senior Member