Airboat design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by RB1, Nov 3, 2010.

1. RB1

RB1 Naval Arch. student

Hi,
    I'm a student currently in second year naval architecture and marine engineering. We have to come up with and airboat design as a group project, which will be vacuum formed from a thermoplastic material, and then the models will eventually be raced. Would be interested to know if anyone has any tips on a good hull design for an airboat?

2. Leo Lazauskas

Leo Lazauskas Senior Member

It would be helpful if you give us some details.
    What are the limits on the dimensions?
    How long and far must the model travel under its own power?

3. RB1

RB1 Naval Arch. student

Max. Hull Dimensions:-
    250 mm x 100 mm x 28 mm (this includes the 3 mm thick top deck plate)
    "Task 4: Fit out the hull with a motor and fan (supplied) and battery pack (supplied), ballast and trim as required to reach the design draught.
    Foam and Balsa will be available to build a platform for the motor and fan. The fan is a three blade 127mm Dia. prop directly driven by a small electric motor (Remember this is an air fan and has to be clear of the water and deck).
    For the more adventurous there will be brass rod, piano wire and thin Balsa available to manufacture rudders, steering surfaces or other additions you think will improve the performance or aesthetics of the vessel."

Not sure exactly how far it has to go, but just really looking for general inspiration on hull shapes...

4. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

Try Google and SEARCH option on this forum.

Post pics of your progress and hurdles, you'll get lots of "input".

-Tom

5. messabout

messabout Senior Member

There have been model airboats on the market for many years. Some are gas powered, some are electric. Search a few of the hobby model web sites. In the US you could try Tower Hobbies which is one of the larger suppliers.

6. WickedGood

WickedGood Guest