100 feet aluminium semi plaining hull

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by VexCore, Aug 30, 2014.

1. VexCore

VexCore Junior Member

Hi guys.

I am trying to figure out how to shape a semi plaining boat of about 80 - 100 feet so it can go at 18 knotts but still be able to reach a max of 25 knotts. The material of the hull will be aluminium since the weight must be kept as low as possible.
    I am new at this, I studied marine engineering but have no previous xp of ship architecture so any advice will be much apreciated. Thanks

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

For me, without more data, it is not clear that aluminum is the material that produces the structure of minimum weight for a boat of this length and speed. It would be good to make a preliminary study of the scantlings of the hull plating, reinforcements, deck structure and bulkheads.

3. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

Start by designing a 20 ft boat. Then, if it goes well, design a bigger one, around 30 ft. And so on... After 10-15 years of gradually getting more experienced in boat design, you might start thinking about designing an 80 ft ship.
    Cheers

4. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

I understand what you mean, daiquiri, and I totally agree. But it all depends on what VexCore means by designing a boat (actually he has not mentioned the word "design"). Just to draw the lines plan and calculate the hydrostatic 20-feet boat is as easy as for a boat 300 feet.

5. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

The shape is only one of the important parameters. Total displacement and power are equally influential. Each of them affect the other. You can't design one without the others. When you say Marine Engineering, do you mean mechanical systems of a ship?

6. VexCore

VexCore Junior Member