Unique vintage boat rat rod project / drivetrain

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by hotrodin57, May 10, 2015.

1. hotrodin57

hotrodin57 Junior Member

I just recently purchase this very unique boat I found and I'm very excited about it. I'm really new to the whole boat thing as I'm mostly an old car guy. The minute I saw this I knew I had to have it as its a little of both. Anyways now I have the challenge ahead of me to get this thing back into the water. I thought I'd post it here and see what you guys thought about it and what type of drivetrain I should use. I'd like to keep it as small and compact as possible so to not consume a ton room in the boat. Initially I'm thinking some sort of small engine with a v-drive unit so to keep engine to back as much as possible. I'm really digging the patina of the boat so I'm thinking of making it a Rat Rod boat so with that in mind I want to keep the budget reasonable. Not looking to make it a speed boat more just a cruiser so don't need nothing to crazy. Any suggestions would be great. Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

It all depends on the state of the bottom and how much rusting has set in, in the underwater part. The old car certainly blended into the boat !

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Well, that's a convolution. She appears to be a 18' sailboat hull, possibly a motor launch, with an early 40's Chevy crafted on.

About the patina, well, if you don't want it to leak and get your socks wet, you'll have to do a faux patina, over a sound, repaired hull at the least.