Sustainability, the environment, and the boatbuilding industry

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by EJC, Nov 8, 2006.

1. EJC

EJC New Member

I am a professional sailor with a background in environmental studies and am curious to hear from anybody who is involved with projects that aim to reduce the ecological footprint of the boatbuilding industry, or to promote sustainable practice within the industry, whether it be through alternative construction methods and materials, energy use and sources, etc. If you are one such person then please post a reply!

I would also be interested in any discussion or comments from any forum users

2. catsketcher

catsketcher Senior Member

Good stuff

Hello EJC

We had a little talk about this when considering gaboon plywoods. I am planning to sell plans for a folding cat (www.foldingcats.com) and have a problem with people building them out of rainforest timbers.

I prefer to design the boat to use slightly heavier plantation timbers like Hoop Pine for plywood. I like using recycled cedar ( I salvaged some on the weekend) but recognise that boatbuilding and being green are hard to combine. Kiri (Paulownia) is a good alternative to cedar. It grows quickly and is plantation grown.

By using epoxies we can use less durable woods so epoxy gets my vote. I would prefer to use foam and materials like Duflex which use plantation balsa as a core. I see little benefit of us building boats to travel to beautiful places if our boats destroy beautiful places in order to be built.

cheers

Phil Thompson

3. challange

challange Junior Member

I have heard said before that builders will in the not too distant future have to have decomisioning plans for their boats in order to comply with RCD, this means making them as re-cyclable as is possible.

I have seen a couple of boats such as the Albi Cat use natural linen and hemp fibers in their boats - although they are used to compliment other conventional fibres.

an intresting subject

4. rayk