Stern Wheel House Boat design

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Jimboc, Jun 12, 2009.

1. Jimboc

Jimboc Junior Member

Hi,
    I am going to build a House Boat. We want to retire this year and spend some time exploring our waterways on the East coast of Australia. I have limited funds & I don't know much about boats except that if air is replaced with water they generally sink so I think a good place to start would be to ensure that doesn't happen... I`m a lousy swimmer.

Aprox plan is..Beam 3.6m, Length I envisage to be between 9 and 10 mtrs. I have a lot of experience building "Stuff" in both wood and metal There is only my (very tolerant & long suffering ) beautiful wife and myself, plus, are you ready for this?... & 3 Jack Russells, so I'm going to need a bit of open roof deck space for them to run about in. They are house dogs who are never more than a couple of paces away from either of us at any given moment and their favorite habit is sleeping, usually right where we are trying to work... of course. Yep and they don't swim to well either so all the more reason to make sure this thing stays afloat. Fortunately my wife has medals for her prowess in the pool so we are all relying on her to get us through this, un-drowned.
    I have chosen Stern Wheel drive, as I like the idea and they are great for shallow draught, Power Plant will be a small Diesel and full Hydrauic drive. My company builds small earthmoving machines which are fully Hydraulic operated so I am in a field I am well conversant with as I do most of the design work, Scow Hull so I can place my Black water and Drinking Water tanks below the deck as well as utilise all the blow deck storage space.

Any help, plans, advise or experience you have that you think would help would be greatly appreciated.
    I`ll keep you posted as to how it all turns out.
    ( Let me know if you think I should start the anger management classes sooner rather than later)
    Thanks
    Jim