Sealing and Painting

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Aubs73, Oct 13, 2013.

1. Aubs73

Aubs73 New Member

Time for an absolute beginner to ask some questions you have all probably answered a thousand times. Its just that there are so many different option etc out there. I got the boat 2 months ago and have started a full restoration.

Boat: 1974 Pongrass Aquarius
    Builder: First time builder

I removed everything to bring it back to a bare hull. Removed the sole and replaced the stringers. Sole is 12mm marine ply. I will be sealing around the edge of the new sole with 100mm fibreglass roll with resin.
    Once sealed i will be putting marine carpet down.

First question: Before i put the carpet down, what is best to seal the new marine ply floor. I want to ensure i get as many years out of this new sole as i can before it ends up like the last one.

Paint: I am in the process of filling all the holes and scratches, and removing the flaking paint. I have been sanding, sanding, and a little more sanding. Should I, use a primer filler, followed by single pack undercoat, then single pack top coat x 3.

That should be enough to get the ball rolling... Hoping to draw from all the knowledge on this page.

Attached Files:

2. Ike

Ike Senior Member

sole: epoxy and glass

someone else can tackle the paint

3. alan white

alan white Senior Member

No glass needed especially if you are carpeting. Several coats of epoxy both under and over to totally encapsulate the plywood. Paint isn't necessary if the epoxy is covered from sunlight.
    There are a few options for paint. One part poly, two part poly, porch and deck enamel, Rustoleum, and more. A typical used boat that will never be a gold plater is best painted with something practical, if not the most glossy and durable.