Restoring a small 15' boat. I need your advice!!!

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by akick, Feb 24, 2014.

1. akick

akick New Member

I am currently in the process of restoring a 15 'x 4' fiberglass boat. When I bought it the floor and stringers were rotten and had to be removed. I would like your opinion on what fiberglassing materials any of you would recommend. My plans are to use 3/4" plywood to lay my stringer down the center. I will also use it in the two shorter ribs on the sides of the center. My plan is to use a 6 oz woven cloth with the US Composite 635 thin epoxy with medium hardener to glass in the stringers and to use on the floor. I was thinking a 1/2 sheet of plywood for the floor I am new to the fiberglassing world. I am wondering if I am going a little overkill on this size of a boat? Would 4 oz be better? I would also like recommendations of what grade plywood to use, do I need marine grade or some other kind? Any information will be helpful. boat.jpg

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.

She has a limited amount of capacity, given her relatively narrow and shallow hull, so weight will be a constant issue, on a build like this. You want to keep it light, so plywood wouldn't be the first choice I'd make for structural elements. You also don't want to over build, thinking it'll be stronger, because of weight and because of increased point loading.

You might want to consider foam or maybe solid wood for the stringers, as you'll get more bank for the buck in terms of weight/strength trade offs.

A single layer of 6 ounce cloth will not be sufficient for the tabbing. In fact, cloth isn't the best choice either, so consider biax fabric instead. The tabbing thickness (weight) will be determined by how big your structural elements are (stringers, bulkheads, frames, etc.) and by how much power you'll toss at this puppy.