Quick and Dirty Micro Powerboat, any ideas, plans, or designs?

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by JONSHOW, Dec 27, 2009.

1. JONSHOW

JONSHOW Junior Member

Quick and Dirty Micro Powerboat, any ideas, plans, or designs? (UPDATED 12/28/09)

Does anyone out there have any idea where I can find plans, sketches or designs for a little two seater powerboat?
    I've got a 20 horse Johnson that I just finished rebuilding and now I think I'd like to jam it on to something we could have a little fun with.
    A little project boat we can take out on the lake and have a few laughs with.
    I've seen the olden times boat plans on the svensons website but they look rather involved.
    What I'm looking for is a quick and dirty solution. Stich and glue maybe?
    I've never built a boat before (except out of cardboard at summercamp once) but I figure, "How hard could it be?"
    Now I might be a boat building rookie, but I've got some skills. I'm a machinist by trade and I hold a degree in Industrial Design. I've prototyped all kinds of stuff and I've got a handle on most manufacturing processes even if I havent actually performed them.
    So, my requirements are fairly simple, quick and dirty, and it probably wouldnt hurt if she were buoyant.
    Thanks in advance for any input. (even the burns, ribs and jabs that are sure to follow)
    j

Last edited: Dec 28, 2009
  2. thudpucker

thudpucker Senior Member

You could Google "free boat plans" or go to the "Glen-L" site or another guy on this forum "LewisBoats"
    It's gonna take you a year to sort through all the choices in your question.

3. JONSHOW

JONSHOW Junior Member

Thanks for the initial response.
    Well a google search is where I started, that led me to the svensons site, the glen-l site and eventually to this site. I'll have to research the "Smith Boats" reference.