Metric measurements/plans

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by cac, Oct 29, 2006.

1. cac

cac Junior Member

I've been building an Origami Dingy (http://www.craftacraft.com/blog/2)... nothing earth shattering, but I've been enjoying the little I've gotten done.

The plans are produced in England and come with detailed metric measurements (and I do mean detailed :). That's great, but has led me to a question...

Is it "normal" for metric measurements to be taken to the millimeter? I've hit a section with a lot of measurements to 33mm or 78mm or whatever... I would have assumed the nearest centimeter or at least 1/2 centimeter (75mm, 35mm) would be "close enough" for nearly everything. In English measurements we normally would only take things to maybe 1/8" unless special circumstances.

Anyway, not complaining, just wondering if its "normal" or just a quirk of these plans.

2. raider

raider boat-a-holic

I have been using Metric dimensioning schemes for the last 20 years in the construction equipment and automive design world.

Normally, we design everything to the nearest half millimeter with a typical tolerance of +/- 0.8 mm for normal parts cut on a laser. The metric dimensioning scheme does have advantages over the English scheme, when it comes to steel and fabrication. But, it becomes a nightmare when it is used in traditional woodworking.

To answer your question directly, rounding to the nearest half cm would cause dimensional stack-ups and could throw everything off with the tolerance run-out. The metric to English conversion is 25.4 mm to 1 inch (IAW ASTM E380). 1/8" is 3.125 mm and 3/16" is 4.76 mm..... so if you are comfortable with rounding everything off to the nearest 3/16" with a tolerance of a 1/16", then you try iy - but be warned that the run-out could lead to mis-fits. The +/- 0.8 mm tolerance mentioned earlier is the conversion of +/- 1/32" - which has been referred to as the "Human Error Tolerance".