Megayacht interior wood finish?

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Billy Bones, Jun 7, 2006.

1. Billy Bones

Billy Bones Junior Member

Hello all,

I have been approached to tackle some woodwork repairs and minor rebuilding on a megayacht sort of boat here in the caribbean.

What sort of finish does best under tropical conditions against uv and so on? The existing finish I'll be trying to match is high-gloss and quite deep, having filled in and rounded all inside radii quite a bit. It has lasted well, considering its age (10 years) but is beginning to show white at the base.

I am a professional woodworker but my specialty is museum repairs on antique furniture--thin, delicate and hand-applied finishes. This deep polymer stuff is new to me.

Thanks for any suggestions.

2. hansp77

hansp77

Billy,
    I probably can't help you, but a bit more info might be good.
    you say it is showing white at the base,
    Are you going to refinish the lot, or just match in what you have repaired?
    What has originally been used for this finish?
    If you don't know, maybe if you state the type of boat and the wood etc, someone might tell you.
    I assume you would go for something like a two pack marine varnish. But I really don't know,
    Pictures may help.

3. Billy Bones

Billy Bones Junior Member

Good idea, hans.

Attached, hopefully, are some images of a sister ship although the interior isn't an exact match it is close.

There is a counter that had a pop-up tv (now replaced with flatscreen elsewhere) which I intend simply to replace. I mentioned the white hazing simply as a clue to the style of existing finish, I doubt that there is anything to be done to repair it, and it wouldn't be cost effective to refinish 10 y/o cabinets, as they aren't anything great inandof themselves, and the hardware is no longer available and patterns have changed so nothing new will work without sustantial (costly) mods.