Foam/Plywood boat plug construction ?s

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by cla17, May 18, 2003.

1. cla17

cla17 Junior Member

Hello,

Background:
    I am trying to build my dream 21'6" ski/wakeboard boat. I want to build a plug for an actual production style mold(I trying to build this into a business). I have some auto body and boat maintenance repair knowledge. I have had little experience with fiberglass and none with gelcoating.

Situation:
    I have a design I want to build but and am on a budget(who isn't) and want to build a 2 part Poly foam and plywood plug. The plywood for support and the foam exterior shaped to the desired shell. I plan to use a Versi-Foam system to spray the foam, unless you someone knows of a better foam for shaping, but I don't know what tools I'm going to need to shape this stuff and how I am going to coat this foam to be able to lay-up a mold on it?

Questions:
    - Is this the right foam(Versi-Foam) to use for this large project?

- What tools am I going to need to shape this foam?

- And what do I need to coat this foam in, to be able to lay-up a mold on it?

Gratitude:
    Any advice is GREATLY appreciated and will garnish good karma, my eternal thanks, and a free ride on the finished product whenever you are in Sunny San Diego.

Thanks,

Chris Anthony

Design pics:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Are you talking about building a plug or a mold with plywood and foam?

3. 8knots

8knots A little on the slow side

Ideas...

Chris