Estimate of construction time

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Royhunter, Jan 2, 2005.

1. Royhunter

Royhunter Junior Member

Hello Everyone,

I need to get some estimate of man hours for the hull and deck construction of a 42-44 sailboat, like a Roberts or Van De Stadt design. I plan to build the hull structure out of multiple layers pf ply to create larger structural members and skin the structure with either thin ply, fiberglass strips, foam core ply (or open to other ideas) and then lay up woven glass cloth inside and out.

I would like to know what the typical amount of cloth layers that would be used on the outside of the hull and what weight of cloth, and also how many layers on the inside.

Keep in mind I would be classed as a master carpenter by profession so anything wood is second nature to me and I have built large live seafood holding tanks laying glass over ply in the past so I am up for the task I just have not built a boat before.

I have some other questions I wouldn’t mind knowing like what the total man hours estimate would be for a complete 44 foot boat, what materials custom fuel tanks can be built with (fiberglass??), what the advantage would be to using Kevlar on the hull instead of glass, and how strong is too strong when building the structure and determining the amount of layers of glass and epoxy? Can a hull be too stiff? I know creating structural members with multiple layers of epoxy-bonded marine ply can create some extremely impressive strengths but I also know a little flex is a good thing in some applications. (Mr. hip pocket engineer here)

In the end I want a boat that can take a serious pounding and be near bulletproof even if I need to sacrifice a bit of performance due to additional weight. Considering I live in Key West and plan to sail to places that have killer tidal waves... I think having a boat near indestructible wouldn’t be a bad thing.

I am very interested in your thoughts and comments.

2. Raggi_Thor