Constructing a personal watercraft/ jet ski

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by MountainRunner, May 17, 2015.

1. MountainRunner

MountainRunner New Member

Hi
    I'm totally new to boat building. I have for some time wanted to build my own 2 person personal watercraft. I need some advice on the materials I need for the hull and the pros and cons of using a rear mounted outboard as opposed to a centre mounted inboard engine.

4 materials I have considered for hull construction are:

Fibre glass/composite
    Marine ply
    Wood
    Mild steel of about 21 gauge galvanised

The steel seems the cheapest and easiest option, is it a viable material to use so long as it's well primed and protected against corrosion? The water craft will be kept at home out of the water when not used.

If not is composite expensive?

Have you any other information on how to build a jet ski and maybe other posts from people who have done this?

Last edited: May 17, 2015
  2. Ike

Ike Senior Member

If you mean a personal watercraft in the same sense as the industry (Kawasaki Jet ski, Seadoo, Waverunner, etc) You would be far better off just buying one. Building your own would more than likely cost you far more.

Materials. Fiberglass. I suppose you could build one of plywood but it would still be heavier than FRP. Steel would be very heavy.