Completely New to Boat Building - Want to build my own boat

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Sven Sin Darko, Jun 22, 2015.

1. Sven Sin Darko

Sven Sin Darko New Member

Hey Boatdesign.net, I'm 24 and I have always wanted to own a boat.

I however, cannot afford to go out and buy a boat because I am a student and The type of boat I want isn't really in my price range. So after a few weeks of stern research, I've come up with a general sense of what I want.

I have a few questions before I can get started, and thats why I'm here, So Humbly I request some feedback from all the experts at BoatDesign.net!

• I'm looking to build a boat , 16-18 feet in length, 8-9 feet wide.
    • The boat will primarily be used for fishing and the occasional cruise for fun
    • I want to build the boat in my garage (I have access to all the tools i would need from my grandpa)
    • If possible, I want the boat to double as a sail boat/motor boat. I don't need high speeds out of either, so the sail height and set up doesn't need to be complex or large scale.
    • The boat will only be used on lakes ( in ontario )
    • I don't plan taking the boat far out into the great lakes where the water is very turbulent ( but i do want the boat to be sturdy enough that I'm comfortable )
    • Looking to seat up to 4 people comfortably on benches along the sides of the boat, with a sort of figure head on the front end instead of a seating area

I can't think of anything else to say about that but im sure i've missed some things.

Plan on using regular plywood to stack up and bend using the glueing method with those vice things to create the hull. Seal it up with epoxy and paint it.

Is this build impossible? im looking to make this over the next year of two, no rush long term project.

2. Jamie Kennedy

Jamie Kennedy Senior Member

Sven,