boat help

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by joejoe, Oct 6, 2005.

1. joejoe

joejoe New Member

Ok, I need a boat that can carry about 20 ppl, can be used to fish in the ocean (i dont know much about this but its for fishing in Fiji, for stuff like tuna and such, I dont know how far off shore you need to go to do this), and it has to be electric. :(

I know its a big request but can someone give me an estimate on how much a boat like this would cost?

PS...As far as carrying 20 ppl, it doesnt mean everyone has to have a seat, as long as 20 ppl can fit tightly on it (20'-25' x 5'-10' sounds close to me???)...im not good at explaining it, but like some people can sit on the floor, some crunched in the seats, etc... :confused:

2. Gilbert

Gilbert Senior Member

Hi joejoe,
    I don't have the definitive answer for you, but if it is for charter your boat will probably need to pass some sort of stability test for the number of passengers you wish to carry. And if they will all be fishing they will each need some space for that. So I am going to guess that an absolute lower limit would be a beamy boat of about 32 to 35 feet and probably longer would be even better. But you really need to get information from the people in charge of enforcing the regulations for charter boats in Fiji first and then take it from there.
    A old friend of mine just moved to Fiji recently. Don't know exactly where; I think a small island.
    Sorry I can't be of more help.
    Gilbert

3. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member