Static stability(Academic problem)

Discussion in 'Stability' started by diegoperrera, Oct 1, 2014.

1. diegoperrera

diegoperrera New Member

Hello,

I am a master student in Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering and I am having a hard time in solving this problem. I am Mechanical Engineer and I can't understand it so much. Is quite different from my area. Attached is the problem about static stability. I would appreciate if you can help me. Any advice is welcome.

Thanks

Attached Files:

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Hi diegoperrera

Welcome to the forum.

Well, what is static stability?...it is a measure of how stable the vessel is. How do we determine that?...from the metacentric height and the vertical centre of gravity.

So to find KM....first we need BM, which is simply I/V

I being the inertia of the water plane and V = volume of the vessel. Since no length is given you can calculate the values using the term "L" for the length, and i'm sure you'll find it'll cancel out as you do your sums.

The KB is easy, since it's a box, just half the draft. So YOu can get KM.

As for KG...one assumes the vessel and boxes are homogenous, thus you have the density and also their dimensions, so again assume half their depth. Then a simple moments to get the KG from the keel, K...gives you KG.

Thus you can then establish when the KG rises above the KM, making it statically unstable.

3. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

Actually, It never loses its static stability....the boxes are 2D and therefore have no mass...very poorly written problem...;)

4. Nick_Sinev

Nick_Sinev Junior Member

5. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

The problem seems to be the typical calculation of limiting KG value but
    is incorrectly posed. I agree with Ad Hoc,
    What is the static stability?
    Whatever it is, stability is not lost but there comes a time when a stability criterion is no longer fulfilled. It should therefore be noted stability criteria barge must meet.