View Full Version : Marinizing Small Industrial Diesels

Diesel Dan
09-23-2004, 12:15 PM
There are a number of Kubota and Yanmar industrial diesel engines available in the sub-50 HP range that would be great to marinize, but for one problem: availability of water-cooled exhaust manifolds. Anybody know of a source?

FAST FRED
09-25-2004, 07:48 AM
Sorry about the delay,

www.mesamarine.com

Is the site for Marine Exhaust of Alabama .

1-251-928-1234 in USA ,

They have a very complete catalog of exhaust manifolds and some other conversion equippment.

HTH

FAST FRED

bjamesw
03-16-2005, 05:54 PM
Hello All,
I have a kubota 1505 diesel taken from a commercial mower. It has less than twenty hours on it. I'm toying
with the idea of using it in a small houseboat. Probably something like a narrowboat for river use. NO more than five to ten knots max.

What is about the minimum required of this engine for marinization? I understand at this point (I'm just beginning this learning curve) that considerations involve fresh/salt use, heat, noise, compartment space, auxilliary uses, and legal requirements. I guess the ideal set up would be to build a 12kw genset around it and use electric propulsion. I could use the AC for aux uses. But it appears that affordable small craft electric propulsion is a few years off yet from what I'm able to learn on the internet. Hydraulics sound appealing as well, esp for adapting auxilliary stuff -but potentially messy and less efficient than mechanical drives.

Could you comment on just a few options I might consider?
Thank you for any help you can provide.
Brad Williamson

gonzo
03-18-2005, 06:11 PM
By the time you end up buying a transmission, bellhousing,adjusting the timing, adjusting the pump and other things, it should be cheaper to get a used marine engine. However, if you are looking for a project to kill time, get the specifications for a marine engine, including the camshaft, and compare them with what you got.

SigTyr