Aircraft Carriers

Discussion in 'Stability' started by Keough, May 13, 2011.

1. Keough

Keough Marine Systems Designer

How do aircraft carriers maintain stability during aircraft takeoff and landing? I'm assuming these jets are about 10-30 tonnes in weight (no idea of true values), and travel from around the CL at the aft to liftoff the port side ahead of amidships. This amount of weight must cause some stability issues in the vessel itself, and of course are accounted for, but in what ways?

This is my first post of the forum. I am a new graduate in Marine Engineering Systems Design, and have a bit of background in naval architecture/stability analysis. I was recently watching discovery channel show Mighty Ships on an aircraft carrier and got to thinking about this issue. Do they use conventional systems and also just ballast down to raise the KB and lower the KG, or is there more going on?

2. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

Displacement of a Nimitz class aircraft carrier is around 100,000 tons. Max take off weight of a F18 is around 25 tons. Data found on internet.

25 tons is 0.025% of 100,000 tons. To put that in perspective 1/2 lb is 0.025% of 1 ton. I wouldn't expect moving 1/2 lb around on 1 ton boat to have a noticeable effect on trim.

One skill which is valuable as a working engineer is being able to come up with a quick estimate of whether something may be signficant or or can be ignored using whatever information is readily available.

2 people like this.
  3. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

Good post DC. In addition, the aircraft weight is almost entirly on the wings by the time it reaches the bow, reducing the load on the vessel to near zero minimizing pitching effect.

-Tom

4. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Spot on :cool:

5. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

Concur

1 person likes this.
  6. Dean Smith

Dean Smith Previous Member

stabilty is not strictly proportional to disp?
    An anology may be the richter scale?