455 olds to be rebuilt

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by MF455OLDS, Jul 8, 2009.

1. MF455OLDS

MF455OLDS New Member

So hear is my situation. I have a 1972 marlin with a 455 olds, berkley jet drive, duel carbs, high rise intake, chrome headers and more. the engine block is in the shop and what i have found out about my engine is that everything in it is high performance. My total costs are going to be around 3,000 for a complete rebuild of the block with all high performance parts. I am somewhat new to the whole jet boat world and am wondering if this is a good deal or not. The boat itself has been sitting for about 5 years now and I am in the process of getting it cleaned out and ready. One problem i have noticed when i dumped the old gas out of the tank is that there was rusty water in the gas. I believe it is getting in through the top piece were two wires are running to the tank. which i think some sealant would solve that problem. Should I replace the fuel line from tank to the engine? Is there anything that I definatly need to do before reinstalling the rest of the parts on the engine block. Any help and advice is greatly apreciated.

2. fasteddy106

fasteddy106 Junior Member