Increased Hull resistance?

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by Guest, Jun 24, 2002.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Hello all & thank you for reading my question. I am new to Hi performance boating and have a 20 year background in automotive motorsports.

I purchased a used boat that was rated by the manufacture (name withheld) at 65 MPH at 4600 RPM's with stock power and a 14 1/2 X 23 stainless prop. The boat came to me with a modified engine (454 with small blower), which I further tuned, and estimate the HP at around 550. I increased prop to 14 1/2 X 28 and can turn 5000 RPM now @ 70 MPH.

I feel this is not a significant increase in MPH with the power going to the bigger prop & increase RPM. As the 4th owner I found the hull's bottom fairly scared up at the rear 1/2 of the hull! It is not smooth and parts of it even look like a washboard :( Could this be where I am loosing my speed due to the increase in hydrodynamic drag? Could the loss be that significant due to the rough bottom? With the original numbers corrected the new speed should be around 86 MPH by formula that originally gave a 7.87% prop slip. I would be happy with 80 MPH that would give a 14.3% prop slip but the actual slippage is 25%. Does this seem unrealistic or could I really be loosing that much in the hull?

Thank you for any answers!

2. Nomad

Nomad Senior Member

It is hurting your speed a bit, but I'm not sure if it's that much.

3. Guest

Guest Guest

Which way does the washboard run? Do you have an idea what caused it?

Why not try filling and fairing the distortions or grooves with some premixed filler or epoxy mixed with medium density filler and then sanding smooth with a longboard? Sanding isn't the most fun thing to do, but your hull should be smooth. It will get a few extra mph at least.

4. tom28571

tom28571 Senior Member