What's been folks' experiences with dry and wet suits?

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by Vermonter, Jul 27, 2007.

1. Vermonter

Vermonter Junior Member

Warm weather is scarce here in VT.

I have lots of experience with keeping myself from going hypothermic on land. I've played a bit on Mt. Washington, where it can drop 30 degrees in 30 minutes. I always give it lots of respect. Now that I'm interested in learning to sail I need to learn about the right clothes for being in the water if stuff happens. I'm a strong swimmer but I know that cold water can kill you fast. I'll mainly be on Lake Champlain where it can be a couple miles to shore.

How cold can you realistically go with wet and dry suits?

Anybody know sources for custom sized ones? I'm 6'4". XL-Tall almost fits, but for a jumpsuit type setup I really need to be fit by actual measurements.

Thanks for any info. :)

2. lazeyjack

lazeyjack Guest

hah!!! seeing as I swim in tropical seas, albeit , my pool os 15c now!!
    dry suits, big hassle to get into, , but if I were you, I would go to the offshore oil industry to search, maybe you could even try the North Sea offshore supply and salvage industry, suggest email Bourbon ,in Norway and ask who supplies them, This is not a disrespectful, play on Bourbon, just that they are the only name to spring to mind
    To my way of thinking, there is nothing worse than a tight 8mm wetsuit, especially around the um er, thingies, It is suprising how much cold the body can tolerate, if one just wears a hood, in say 18 c waters,
    Come to think of it, sry suits are mandatory on all Barents fishing boats, so there you have many avenues to explore

3. Poida

Poida Senior Member

Scuba diving here we wear wetsuits.
    Drysuits are used in very cold water such as under ice diving.

Wetsuits are named "wet" because they let the water in and in icy conditions you would probably be unconcious before the water warmed up.