Typical contract

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by jonathan, Mar 2, 2004.

1. jonathan

jonathan Junior Member

Hi all,
    I am a young yacht designer, and have recently been asked to design a boat, which might develop into a series.
    The contract type that I would like to use is one where the client pays for the design up front, probably in installments, and if more boats are built, I get a royalty fee on them.
    I was just wondering if anybody had a typical contract available that I might reuse and adapt to fit this project, or if I am wrong in the type of contract I want to use, etc...
    Also, any comments are more than welcome as I am a bit at a loss about what to do next...
    It's my first "real" work as a self employed yacht designer and any help would be *greatly* appreciated.

Jonathan

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

I'll give you a quick tip on how not to get beat up by the big boys in business, especially if this is all new to you. Call a lawyer and have a contract designed for your business and this account. A plane old generic contract can be destroyed by any half way capable attorney interested in breaking it.

The only time you need a contract is when the other party isn't holding up their end of the deal and the lawyers get involved anyway. Do it right from the start, get your business on the proper footing and start living with the idea of tossing them (the attorneys) money every so often. It's one of the costs of having a business and doing business with others.

3. jonathan

jonathan Junior Member

Thanks PAR, that's what I didn't really want to hear, but I knew I would ;)
    It's also even trickier, because the person I'm dealing with is Belgian with a business in China... So which law would apply, which language is the contract to be written in, etc... I think I need some kind of internationnal law expert !
    Anyway, thanks for the advice.

4. SailDesign

SailDesign Old Phart! Stay upwind..

jonathan,