Things learned the hard way.

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by philSweet, Oct 7, 2011.

1. philSweet

philSweet Senior Member

This morning I did something so extraordinarily stupid that it was beyond the pail, even by my standards. About the only silver lining being I though the forum might enjoy it. If anyone else wishes to share, please post stuff you learned the hard way. If we were to list every stupid action that makes the news or shows up on YouTube there wouldn't be enough memory on the web.

Yesterday (Thursday), I started painting a neighbor’s house. The weather is perfect and the neighbors are not home. I figured I had all weekend. So I called the neighbor after I got started and he mentions that friends will be staying at the house over the weekend but not to worry. Yeah, right. I've got all the windows masked and the doors will all be wet and there will be kids and dogs and cars everywhere. So I hurry the job. It’s pretty cool on Friday morning, but I have to paint, so I turn the heat on in the house and put the paint can I spray out of on their stove while I get set up. That works fine and in half an hour I’m ready to start to spray. So I move the next can of paint onto the stove and go outside. Stove is on dead low. After about 10 minutes I go inside just in time to see paint begin to ooze out all over the stove from the bottom of the can. I test the can gingerly and the bottom holds so I run it outside and after cleaning everything up and moving the paint to a different can I discover the can bottom is plastic.:confused: I’ve never seen a plastic paint can before in my life. One more minute and the whole bottom would have dropped out. The stove was a glass job which was a blessing. This could have been much worse, but it was plenty bad enough as it was. By the time I got going again, it was nice and warm out.

Beware of plastic paint pails.

2. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member