Rowing

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by sinisa, Jul 2, 2007.

1. sinisa

sinisa Junior Member

Hi, my name is Sinisa Bogdanovic, and I am a student of Naval Dept. on University of Mechanics in Belgrade. Wright now I am doing my Diploma thesis about rowing racing boats. I have many problems because there is not much sources about this subject. There is one I know, and it is from 1967, written by Prof. Willicome and titled “Report on resistance experiments carried out on three racing shells”. I couldn’t find any other, so I am interested if anyone can help me with this, or provide me by any other book, or document considering this subject. This is my e-mail, so if there is anyone also interested in this, can write me a letter, so we could make contact.
    bogdanovic82@hotmail.com

2. thudpucker

thudpucker Senior Member

You probably have your info by now, but if not, I'd check into the Ivy league schools, princton, yale, harvard and the U.S. Naval academy.

I've been rowing since 1946. I have a great deal of experience, but not one whit of education.

3. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member

This is a good place to start:
    http://www.cyberiad.net/rowing.htm

You should work through this material carefully. It is authorative work. You may not need to look elsewhere if you take it all in.

You can get free software from this site called Michlet and it has a hull optimising component called Godzilla. Godzilla takes a lot of guess work out of hull design for boats operating in calm conditions.

The software is not for school girls (not my words). It requires some reading of manuals and attention to detail but extremely rewarding once you have mastered it.

Rick W.

4. sinisa

sinisa Junior Member

Dear Sir