Riverboating

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by elsteveo, Feb 11, 2006.

1. elsteveo

elsteveo New Member

Hello to all
    I'm thinking of building a boat suitable for use on the North Platte river in Wyoming. The river can be pretty shallow in places (< 2"). What I have in mind is something that doesn't draw much water that can be powered by a shallow water outboard motor ( "Go-Devil", "Backwater" brand etc.). I'm looking at between 10 and 20 horsepower.

I don't know much about boats or boat building but I am a very accomplished woodworker. Any suggestions regarding boat style, length etc? Does anyone have experience with surface drive or shallow water outboards? What's the best method of construction?

Thanks in advance for the input.

2. trouty

trouty Guest

Wyoming

Aren't they trout rivers?

I thought you used like a big wood banana shaped "drift boat" to fish that sort of water - least thats what I saw used in a movie on fishing for trout in the Snake River..(Idaho?)..sorry not good on your geography!.

Failed geography but married the blond gal who sat next to me!..wish now I'd passed geography and just shagged the blond gal - but ya get that!:p

Most shallow runners seem to go with a jet drive leg on a outboard if underwater debris (rocks and logs etc) are a problem - but the guys down louisana way seem to use some kinda surface peircing gator engine for chewin up mud in the bayou's (sp?).

I guess it comes back to the kinda water you got and the type of fishing you do..

Can you tell us more..(pics?)..

Does it have to be able to outrun bears?

Do two men need to be able to carry it over beaver dams etc?

You can see I know diddly squat 'bout Wyoming(sp?)...cept it's cowboy country aint it? (Maybe you just need a fishing rod and a horse?) :confused:

Cheers!

3. elsteveo

elsteveo New Member