Introduction and a Question

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by AndyC, Oct 23, 2002.

1. AndyC

AndyC New Member

Hi there,

I've been lurking on these forums for a while now but now I have a question so I thought I'd better register and Introduce myself before asking.

I'm a software professional in Adelaide, South Australia and I just like messing about in boats.

I'm building a John Welshford design, Navigator, in my shed at the moment and have become quite interested in small boat design while doing so. I'd like to design my next boat myself and I'd like to design a different sail rig for the Navgator when I've finished the Hull.

I've obtained and read Skene's book and am currently going through the Larsson/Eliasson book where they mention the use of "Copenhagen ships curves" to draw body plans.

My question is how would one go about drawing out the shape of these ships curves. Is there a specification for the maths algorithm's that define the shapes, or is it something that has evolved over the years and is a closely held secret by the makers? I cannot find any documented history on the development of these instruments on the Net. I have seen sets that were obviously hand made, but they may just have been traced out from an existing set.

So, who made the first set and how did they do it?

Many thanks

Andy

2. Nomad

Nomad Senior Member

Hello, and welcome to the forum!!! Sorry that I can Answer your question...

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member