Hello, wheelhouse question?

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by Parahandy, Sep 1, 2007.

1. Parahandy

Parahandy Skipper

Hello everybody, I am a newcomer to your forum, and need help with a wheel house problem.
    We operate on the river Clyde in Glasgow Scotland a 60ft. ex Dutch waterbus. The wheel house needs to be modified to allow us to navigate under a bridge at high tides. We are seeking a method of making the top approx. 800mil, removable, utilising some quick release catches.
    Would be oblidged if anyone has done this or knows of a method and could point us on the right course. Many thanks, Parahandy. Boat can be seen here.

http://www.clydewaterbusservices.co.uk/

2. Guillermo

Guillermo Ingeniero Naval

3. Poida

Poida Senior Member

I'm not a boat designer but do engineering design, so just throwing ideas around.

It appears you don't have 800mil above windows, would removing 800mil pf window obscure your view? Maybe copy the pop up caravan design using lineal bearings to raise and lower the top actuated by pneumatic cylinders.

Raising and lowering the whole cab, if controls not attached directly making the job too complicated, this would require heavier duty linear bearings.

Ballast tanks if possible to increase the boat's mass so it floats 800mil lower, pumping out after negotiating the bridge.

Poida

4. alan white

alan white Senior Member

After staring at the boat for a while, I came to the conclusion that if the bridge roof down to the bottom of the windows were replaced by cored glass composite construction/lexan, it would weigh maybe 300 lbs max..
    The entire structure would be forward-hinged to rest temporarily upside down forward of the lower wheelhouse..
    This would require a shaft on the hinge axis, and a hefty worm and sector arrangement coupled to a gearmotor located within the wheelhouse.
    Alternately, aluminum could be used instead of composite/glass.