hello im new here

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by sandieman, Jun 2, 2007.

1. sandieman

sandieman New Member

im new to the boat world and have moved recently from england to germany.
    in my quest to find employment i managed to find a job fairing a mega yacht
    and wondered if i could find out more about it.
    is this the place? or does anyone know of a good forum where that end of the yachting business can be found? i like to do things well and so all info is good info and i am a absolute beginner.
    thanx for any replies.

2. Bergalia

Bergalia Senior Member

Hello I'm new here

Sandieman - welcome. And to answer your initial question - YES. This is the ONLY place for real, brass-bound information. This forum is stacked with wise knowledgeable blokes/and bloke-esses. (Plus a few idiots like me).
    Stay put and answers will start trickling in. I mean, where else will you find designers, marine engineers, boat builders/repairers, sailors and owners all under one 'deck'. On top of that, several centuries of practical experience.:)

3. lazeyjack

lazeyjack Guest

ok is your question only fairing?
    Cos heres the real oil
    to start with you go over the whole boat with a long batten, start with 2 of you and a 15 foot batten, mark the hollows s with chalk, I assume she is allready painted and read to go> in the marked areas write in the depth of bog(filler reqd) , go over the whole hull like this, lengthways and diagonally down the hull
    To fair a boat quickly will take years of practice BUT this in the only way, there are no short cuts and if you start by bogging the whole hull first , most of this expensive compound , made up of phenolic micro balloons and epoxy resin will end up in the waste bin